sojourneys


A personal reflection – Lunch with former students

While this blog is primarily to share my travels and reviews, I hope I will be forgiven if I sometimes share more personal moments and reflections.

I had lunch last Saturday with a group of my former students.  All of them were Student Ambassadors of Republic Polytechnic, a student co-curricular organization I advised when I was teaching at the polytechnic.  Most of us have stayed in contact, thanks to the wonders of MSN, but it was fantastic to be able to meet up, and to see that all of them are doing well.

From the right, Haoxiang and Weixiong are from the pioneer intake of RP, and one of the earliest Student Ambassadors (or we as we fondly abbreviate, SAs).  Both are serving National Service now.  Haoxiang finds himself continuing the pioneering streak even while in NS, and I am glad that he is learning new and interesting things.  He is most likely to head to Australia for further studies.   Weixiong has been admitted to the Nanyang Technological University, but is mulling a move to furthering his university studies in Australia as well.  Fel just graduated, and is working in a hotel to gain practical experience while applying to a tourism and hospitality program at the Singapore Institute of Management.  Naj also just graduated, and will be heading to Wellington, New Zealand early next year to pursue studies in the biomedical sciences.  Jon is in his final year at RP, and like most Singaporean males, will be drafted into National Service for 2 years when he graduates.  All of them are young, talented, responsible youths, and I feel immensely privileged to have played a small part in their growth and development.

Above: A group shot of the SAs–in my opinion the greatest bunch of students around.

Above: Zhi Hui, Fel, and Haoxiang–all SA leaders I have worked closely with over the years.

Above: A group pic at our 2006 leadership retreat–next to me is Soon Lan, who was briefly co-advising SA with me as I prepared to transition to the next phase of my career.

Looking back, while teaching in Republic Polytechnic (and I’m sure anywhere else) has its share of hills and valleys, realizing that you were given a precious opportunity–and privilege–to play a small part in nurturing young people into mature, responsible, and thinking adults, makes it immensely fulfilling at both professional and personal levels.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi David, my sincerest apologies for unable to meet up with all that sunday as i need to book in early – last mon to wed got range; need to prepare alot of saikang.

Nice and cool reflection especially the article on the Student Ambassadors. Miss so much – all the funs in camps and busy preparations for projects such as open house, more…

Shall we find one day when all less busy to meet up for a day of sports under the sun.

Take care

Comment by DiNo aka Zhi Hui

Hi Zhi Hui, haven’t met up for a while. Yeah, let’s catch up one of the weekends? Keep up your spirit.

Comment by sojourneys

Hey David. From this post (nice one dude and looks like you are also softening up like me…haha) I have two comments/ questions:

1) You look as young as your students!

2) You sound like you do miss teaching. Will you consider …err…. going back there one day?

Comment by walter

Hi Walter,

Well, to your first comment, I owe it to SK-II! (just kidding). And as to the second, I actually am still teaching, but in an adjunct capacity at SIM University. 🙂

David

Comment by sojourneys




Leave a Reply

